Butkus Award(R) 35th Season College And High School Finalists Announced

CHICAGO, IL / ACCESSWIRE / November 25, 2019 / Semi-finalists for the 35th annual Butkus Award® honoring the nation’s best collegiate linebackers were announced today by the Butkus Foundation.

Butkus Award 2019 Collegiate Finalists

Zack Baun, Wisconsin

Jordyn Brooks, Texas Tech

Micah Parsons, Penn State

Isaiah Simmons, Clemson

Evan Weaver, California

Logan Wilson, Wyoming

Butkus Award 2019 High School Finalists

Jordan Botelho, Saint Louis School, Honolulu, Hawaii

Jackson Bratton, Muscle Shoals, Ala.

Justin Flowe, Upland, Calif.

Antoine Sampah, Woodbridge, Va.

Mekhail Sherman, St. John’s College, Washington, DC

Collegiate and prep winners will be announced on or before December 10. The pro winner will be announced in early 2020. Selection is handled by a panel of 51 coaches, recruiters, scouts and journalists who vote separately and confidentially using a 3-2-1 weighted process, with a write-in option offered. Selectors and selection criteria are posted at www.thebutkusaward.com.

The 2018 Butkus Award winners:

Professional: Khalil Mack, Chicago Bears

Collegiate: Devin White, LSU (now Tampa Bay Buccaneers)

High School: Nakobe Dean, Horn Lake, Miss. (now Georgia)

The Butkus Award® is presented by the Butkus Foundation, a 501c3 non-profit organization which advances health and wellness through special initiatives. This includes the I Play Clean® program encouraging athletes to play using their natural ability, and the Butkus Takes Heart™ program encouraging preventive heart scans and screening among adults.

The Butkus Award a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. NCFAA’s 25 awards have honored more than 800 since 1935.


Ron Arp

SOURCE: Butkus Foundation

View source version on accesswire.com:

error: Content is protected !!